Posted by: Patch Johnson | July 31, 2009

Ken Watson Interview

Hello, fans, and welcome to another edition of Patch’s Place.  This time we talk to a man by the name of Ken Watson who is a blogger and interviews Lucha Libre wrestlers.

Patch: How long have you been a Fan of Lucha Libre?

Ken Watson: I’ve been a Fan of Lucha Libre since the late 80’s.

Patch: How did you become a Fan of Lucha Libre?

Ken Watson: When I was a Child, My Family decided to take a small vacation to Mexico. And while My Family and I were vacationing in Mexico, We went to a Lucha Libre Show at Arena Mexico. I was quickly blown away by the beauty of Arena Mexico, but once the Lucha Libre Show got underway, I was more blown away by the Mask, the Outfits, and of course, by the larger than life Lucha Libre Luchadores who amazed Me, the Fan, with their high-flying Lucha Libre skills. And since that trip to Mexico, I became a huge Lucha Libre Fan.

Patch: Have you ever wrestled before? And if not, would you?

Ken Watson: (Laughs)  If I could Wrestle and get in the Ring right now, I would definetly love to Wrestle Ultimo Guerrero from the CMLL Promotion. Ultimo Guerrero has been one of My favorites for these past couple of years and it’s great to see him at the top of the CMLL Promotion right now.

Patch: Who are some of your favorite Lucha Libre stars to interview for the blog?

Ken Watson: So far, My favorite Interviewees are Tony Sinisters and Gaston Mateo.

Patch: How do you choose who you will interview for the blog?

Ken Watson: I just take a look at the careers of Young and Experienced Talent. I look at their Resume, and after doing so, I decide that I am going to Interview that person.

Patch: How do you think the Lucha Libre scene could be improved or changed in any way?

Ken Watson: My biggest problem with Lucha Libre right now is the Booking. The Booking isn’t as good as it once was 7 or even 10 years ago. For example, the CMLL Promotion doesn’t know what to do with the majority of it’s Talent while the Triple A Promotion keeps putting the same Luchadores in the Main Event over and over again. It’s ridiculous! If I were Booking for the Triple A Promotion, I’d push the Younger Luchadores who are trying to come up in this Business. But if I Booked for the CMLL Promotion, I’d make sure that I’d use all of the Luchadores on the Roster to their fullest potential instead of putting them in situations that barely make any sense.

Patch: What are the differences between Lucha Libre wrestling and American wrestling?

Ken Watson: American Wrestling is more ground and pound. Lucha Libre, on the other hand, is more fast paced, more athletic, and even more exciting than American Wrestling.

Patch: Who are some of the Lucha Libre stars that you think we might need to keep a watch on?

Ken Watson: Oh boy, this is a tough question, Patch. Well, right now, look out for Xtreme Tiger, Dragon Rojo, and Tony Sinisters. Xtreme Tiger Wrestles for the Triple A Promotion, and he is on the verge of becoming the Promotion’s next version of Rey Mysterio. Tiger can fly, dive, and most of all, give you a good Match that you are going to enjoy. Dragon Rojo Wrestles for the CMLL Promotion and he has been on a role lately in the CMLL Promotion. I can’t wait to see Dragon Rojo break out from the Poder Mexica Stable so that he can become a top star in his own right. Tony Sinisters is a Young Luchador who is Training hard everyday in order to get what he wants in this Business, and that is success. He formerly Wrestled for the ILA Promotion, but don’t be surprised to see him somewhere else in Mexico or in the States.

Patch: I know a lot of Lucha Libre wrestlers are in hard core matches. What are your thoughts on that?

Ken Watson: I love Hardcore Wrestling, as long as it’s done right.

Patch: What is the most surprising fact that you have ever found out about a Lucha Libre star? And who was it?

Ken Watson:

Patch: Have you ever been challenged to a match by a Lucha Libre star?

Ken Watson: No, not yet. But if that ever happens, I’d have to get in the Ring, grab a microphone and kindly decline the challenge. I was born to write about Lucha Libre, Patch!

Patch: Any final thoughts or comments?

Ken Watson: I’d like to invite all of the Lucha Libre and American Wrestling Fans to My Blog, “In the Corner w/ Ken Watson” which can be found on WordPress at the follwing address:  http://www.inthecornerwithkenwatson.wordpress.com.


Leave a comment

Categories